MSI 20000

PRESENTATION

Fundamental

Each company, whether SME or multinational, is supposed to prepare its financial statements, at least annually. The maintenance of financial statements, which is the guarantor of a structured financial representation, is generally legally binding. The financial statements reflect the financial position of an entity. Financial statements are among the main tools of decision-making that contribute in the comparison of the present situation of a company to its past situations and to other companies.
The financial statements provide the basis for financial analysis and diagnosis and the resulting interpretations. It is precisely on this principle that financial certification is based.

Principles

Financial certification is by definition neutral, objective and universal.
The mathematical logic that makes up the evaluation process and the resulting measurement patterns follow an exclusively scientific reasoning, that guaranty the fairness and uniqueness of the certification.

Definition

The certification is a procedure whereby a third party, the certification body, provides assurance that an entity complies with a list of requirements specified in a standard specification.
The MSI 20000 certification is the certification dedicated to financial quality.

STANDARD MSI 20000®

Origin

Conceived since 2001 to the day after the Enron business, the MSI 20000 standard began to emerge among an elite of finance professionals. The standard is officially launched in 2008, following the subprime crisis. Initially driven by European players, the idea was to identify the healthiest values in the financial markets.
Today, the standard has become widespread for any company wishing to measure the quality of its financial activity and to promote it; whether listed or not, any sector of activity can be a part. The MSI 20000 certification is presented as a complete financial diagnosis followed by an index placed at the disposal of the market and its stakeholders (shareholders, investors, creditors, partners, customers, suppliers, etc.) that are looking for reliable and independent benchmarks.

Construction

MSI 20000 for Market Standard Indicator – Index 20000, is the standard of financial quality.
The MSI 20000 specification sets the requirements for the financial quality of a structure, depending on its sector of activity. The list of requirements as a guideline serves to support certification, which is based on 2 axes: solidity and financial performance. Two fundamentals guaranteeing every company: profitability, solvency and long-term sustainability.

Vocation

A certification, at a given referential, is an initiative of accreditation at a particular moment of an evolutionary system. The financial certification demonstrates conformity with a set of financial management criteria. Thus the MSI 20000 standard provides information on the quality of governance, in terms of financial management.

MSI 20000® CERTIFICATORS

INTERNATIONAL CERTIFICATORS IN THE SERVICE OF FINANCE
The Certification Bodies that deliver the MSI 20000 standard, are authorized to do so under very precise selection criteria. International certifiers, SGS and DEKRA, have been authorized to issue certificates of conformity according to the MSI 20000 standard. The SGS and DEKRA organizations, respectively Swiss and German, are among the world leaders in certification.
The MSI Organization, Swiss NGO, is the body responsible for disseminating and regulating the referential.
MSI gathers international expertise and experts in corporate and market finance.

MSI 20000® CERTIFICATION

Procedure

The MSI 20000 certification procedure is carried out as specified in the regulations of the MSI 20000 standard, in accordance with ISO 17021. This certification standard provides the requirements and principles of competence, consistency, impartiality and independence related to certification work


Competence

The MSI 20000 auditors are selected for their expertise and experience in the field of financial analysis and evaluation. Audit coordinators are chosen for their qualifications and their business expertise, in each sector of activity.

Consistency
The evaluation procedure is carried out on the basis of the financial statements approved by the statutory auditors; guarantee of the authenticity of the information provided.

The MSI 20000 measurement diagrams are based on mathematical and objective criteria, based only on scientific reasoning.

Impartiality
Evaluation is carried out with strict neutrality, with procedures strictly supervised and standardized on an international scale. The whole financial diagnosis carried out within the premises of the certifier, without the intervention of the beneficiary. For reasons of impartiality, audit coordinators are the only ones with whom the entity audited should deal with.

Independence
The procedure is carried out by an independent third party, having the statutes of a certification body. The MSI 20000 is an authorized certifier under the official MSI license, according to a number of pre-established criteria.
For reasons of impartiality, audit coordinators are the only ones with whom the entity audited should deal with. Their mission is to relay the activities between the two parties (certifier and beneficiary) during the audit process. The whole mission takes place at the certifiers’ premises, without the contribution of the beneficiary, which therefore does not mobilize any resources and space.

Processus

According to the international regulation of system certifications: a certification is issued following a specific and strictly supervised audit.
Audits have as base for their work: specifications and procedures.
As part of the financial certification, procedures are applied in accordance with the ISO 17021 standard. The specifications address carefully, by sector of activity, a set of financial instruments and models based on criteria of reliability and relevance.
The certification is issued according to the following procedures:

Major audit
The purpose is to measure the financial quality of an entity (company) in order to determine its conformity with the requirements of the MSI 20000 standard.

Certification
When the major audit reveals conformity, the audited entity is granted the certification. A certificate of conformity with the MSI 20000 standard is then issued to the entity. In accordance with the international regulations in force: certificates of conformity have a validity period of three years, from the date of grant and once the beneficiary remains representative of the certification.

Follow-up audit
For each certification cycle, the certifier performs, throughout the period of validity of the certificates, annual audits to make sure that the certified establishment is still in conformity with MSI 20000 requirements, by the year.
Within a three-year certification cycle, there are two follow-up audits (in n + 1 and n + 2).

Methodology

The MSI 20000 standard certification is based on the assessment of the conformity of the financial management system, by measuring the financial quality of an entity. To this end, the MSI 20000 specification mentions 3 steps, summarized below:

Data collection
The certifier is in charge of collecting the data that will be used for the audit from the beneficiary.
The main analytical source is the financial statements of the last few years, approved by the statutory auditors. Data collection takes place within the premises of the beneficiary, while the document review and the data processing take place at the certifier’s.
Any data transmitted or information communicated in connection with the certification missions is subject to confidentiality. The relationship between the stakeholders is fully confidential.

Technical diagnosis
The evaluation of the financial quality of an enterprise is measured via the axes of soundness and financial performance on the bases of financial statements and the MSI 2000° protocol understanding.
The evaluations take the form of a comprehensive and detailed financial analysis, exploring theme by theme, components and subjacents that directly or indirectly relate to the financial quality of a company. Each theme is taken individually by a selection of instruments, depending on the sector of activity.

AXES THEMES
SOUNDNESS Asset Management
Cash Management
Management of liabilities
Risk management
Human Resource Management
Operations Cycle Management
PERFORMANCE Commercial profitability
Economic profitability
Financial profitability
Overall Profitability
Operating profitability
Profitability and value creation

Table varying according to the sector of activity

Interpretation
It consists in comparing the results of the financial analysis with the benchmarks recommended by the standard MSI20000. This comparison makes it possible, with a scoring system, weighted by coefficients and gap reading algorithms, to measure and locate precisely the financial quality of a company and thus determine its ability to be certified.

The MSI standards are set on the basis of an international sectoral benchmarking, adjusted according to the specificities of each sector of activity.

BENEFITS OF THE CERTIFICATION

MSI 20000 has multiple benefits and can be introduced under two titles:

MSI 20000 business Expertise

From an internal point of view the evaluation reports describe in details the strengths and weaknesses of a company’s financial management.
The specifications of the MSI 20000 are the result of continuous work, created according to the most sophisticated financial evaluation schemes. Thus, through its predictive models, the relevance of the methodology leading to the MSI 20000 certification makes it possible to optimize the financial management processes by detecting deficiencies and anticipating future malfunctions. The issuance of alerts, together with recommendations to remedy them, is a constructive and practical approach to further development.

The MSI 20000 standard seeks to advance good financial governance practices by providing the company with, a financial information system, and reliable procedures and assistance, and decision-making schemes.  

The MSI 20000 communication vector

From an external point of view, a certification, as a vector of communication, is a reliable and concrete argument, reflecting the conformity of a system, with a set of requirements.
The financial certification is a commitment and strong initiative of accreditation at a given moment of an evolving system, according to a standard of excellence.
The use of MSI 20000 conformity marks is an indicator, directly contributing to the process of enhancing and improving the attractiveness of a company, by opening up the financial qualities of a company to the market.

In an environment in constant evolution, the MSI 20000 standard presents itself as a common index to economic actors and financial operators looking for financial benchmarks both nationally and internationally.

Advantages of the MSI 20000 Certification

  • A sectoral comparison of financial activity and its international positioning (via benchmarking)
  • A guide to conducting and supporting decision
  • making on financial strategies
  • A practical financial information system and perennial financial schemes
  • A valuation of the activity and the financial situation
  • A lever for the growth of good financial practices
  • An indicator of solvency and profitability
  • An index of risk control and integration of sectoral financial precautions
  • A commitment to a continuous improvement in financial attractiveness
  • A reliable and concrete benchmark, a guarantee of financial quality, for market operators and economic and financial partners
  • An undeniable competitive advantage- Taking a position at the international scale

Trademarks of conformity
User Manual MSI 20000
Logotype MSI 20000

ORGANISATION MSI®

OBJECT

MSI 20000 is a collective project bringing together skills from the international economic and financial spheres.
MSI organization is the referential dissemination and regulation authority
The MSI Organization is a Swiss NGO.
The role of the Organization is to update the referential and to monitor its scope.

Contact Information

Web : www.organisationmsi.org
Address: 3 Boulevard Georges – Favon – 1204 Geneva – Switzerland

Scientific Committee

comite-scientifique

MSI 20000

PRESENTATION

Fondamentaux

Chaque entreprise, qu’il s’agisse de PME ou de multinationale, est concernée par l’établissement, au moins annuel, de ses états financiers. La tenue des états financiers, garante d’une représentation financière structurée, revêt généralement un caractère légal et obligatoire. Les états financiers sont le reflet
de la situation financière d’une entité. Ils constituent un des principaux outils d’aide à la décision et par définition, le support de comparaison dans le temps, de la situation d’une entreprise par rapport à ses situations passées, mais aussi par rapport à d’autres entreprises.
Les états financiers servent de base aux analyses et diagnostics financiers ainsi qu’aux interprétations qui en découlent. C’est précisément sur ce principe que se fonde la certification financière.

Principes

La certification financière est par définition neutre, objective et universelle.
La logique mathématique qui compose la démarche d’évaluation et les schémas de mesure qui en découlent, suivent un raisonnement exclusivement scientifique, garantissant les caractères d’équité et d’unicité de la certification.

Définition

La certification est une procédure par laquelle une tierce partie, l’organisme de certification, donne l’assurance qu’une entité est conforme à une liste d’exigences spécifiées dans un cahier des charges relatif à un standard.
La certification MSI 20000 est la certification dédiée à la qualité financière.

STANDARD MSI 20000®

Origine

Impulsé dès 2001 au lendemain de l’affaire Enron, le standard MSI 20000 a commencé à émerger au sein d’une élite de professionnelles de la finance. Le standard voit officiellement le jour en 2008, à la suite de la crise des « subprimes ». Initialement portée par des acteurs européens, l’idée était d’identifier les valeurs les plus saines au sein des places financières.

Aujourd’hui, le standard s’est généralisé à toute entreprise désireuse de mesurer la qualité de son activité financière et de la faire valoir ; qu’il s’agisse d’entreprise cotée ou non, tout secteur d’activité confondu. La certification MSI 20000 se présente donc, comme un diagnostic financier complet, suivie d’un indice mis à la disposition du marché et de ses acteurs (actionnaires, investisseurs, créanciers, partenaires, clients, fournisseurs, …), en quête de repères fiables et indépendants.

Construction

MSI 20000 pour Market Standard Indicator – Indice 20000, est la norme de la qualité financière.
Le cahier des charges de la norme MSI 20000 donne les exigences requises à la qualité financière d’une structure, selon son secteur d’activité. La liste d’exigences comme ligne directrice, sert de support à la certification, qui s’articule sur 2 axes : la solidité et la performance financière. Deux fondamentaux assurant à toute entreprise : rentabilité, solvabilité et pérennité dans le temps.

Vocation

Une certification, à un référentiel donné, est une initiative d’accréditation à un moment arrêté d’un système évolutif. La certification financière vient attester de la conformité à un ensemble de critères en matière de gestion financière. Ainsi le standard MSI 20000 vient renseigner sur la qualité de la gouvernance, en matière de management financier.

CERTIFICATEURS MSI 20000®

Certificateurs internationaux au service de la finance.
Les Organismes de Certification autorisés à délivrer le standard MSI 20000, le sont sur des critères de sélection très précis. Les certificateurs internationaux SGS et DEKRA ont été habilités à émettre des certificats de conformité au standard MSI 20000. Les Organismes SGS et DEKRA, respectivement suisses et allemands, font partie des leaders mondiaux des métiers de la certification.
L’Organisation MSI, ONG de Droit Suisse, est l’organe de diffusion et de régulation, du référentiel.
L’Organisation MSI est composée de compétences et d’experts internationaux de la finance d’entreprise et de marché.

CERTIFICATION MSI 20000®

Procédure

La procédure de certification MSI 20000, se fait tel que mentionné dans la réglementation de la norme MSI 20000, en adéquation avec la norme ISO 17021. Ce standard de certification donne les exigences et principes de compétence, de cohérence, d’impartialité et d’indépendance, relatifs aux travaux de certification.

Compétence
Les auditeurs MSI 20000 sont sélectionnés sur leur savoir-faire et leur expérience dans les domaines de l’analyse et de l’évaluation financière. Les coordinateurs d’audits sont choisis pour leurs qualifications et leurs expertises métier, dans chaque secteur d’activité.

Cohérence
Les travaux d’évaluation s’effectuent sur la base des états financiers approuvés par les commissaires aux comptes ; gage de véracité des informations communiquées.
Les schémas de mesure MSI 20000 sont établis sur des critères mathématiques et objectifs, construits sur un raisonnement exclusivement scientifique.

Impartialité
Il est apporté la plus grande rigueur dans l’approche d’évaluation, avec des procédures strictement encadrées et standardisées à l’échelle internationale. Le diagnostic financier est dans son intégralité, réalisé au sein des locaux du certificateur, sans l’intervention des ressources du bénéficiaire. Les coordinateurs d’audit sont, par souci de neutralité, les seuls vis-à-vis de l’entité auditée.

Indépendance
Les travaux sont réalisés par une tierce partie indépendante, ayant les statuts d’organisme de certification. Les certificateurs habilités MSI 20000, le sont sous la licence officielle MSI, selon un certain nombre de critères préétablis.
Par ailleurs, lors des missions d’audits, les coordinateurs d’audits sont, par soucis d’impartialité, les seuls vis-à-vis de l’entité auditée. Leur mission est de relayer les activités entre les deux parties (certificateur et bénéficiaire), au cours du processus d’audit. Les missions ont lieu dans leur intégralité au sein des locaux du certificateur, sans la contribution du bénéficiaire, qui ne mobilise donc aucune ressource et aucun espace.

Processus

Selon la réglementation internationale des certifications systèmes : une certification est émise à la suite d’un audit spécifique et strictement encadré.
Les audits ont pour support de base : cahier des charges et procédures.
Dans le cadre de la certification financière, les procédures sont appliquées en adéquation avec le standard ISO 17021. Le cahier des charges, quant à lui, reprend minutieusement par secteur d’activité, une batterie d’instruments et de modèles financiers, retenus sur des critères de fiabilité et de pertinence. La certification est délivrée selon la démarche suivante :

Grand audit
Il s’agit de mesurer la qualité financière d’une entité afin de déterminer sa conformité avec les exigences du standard MSI 20000.

Certification
Lorsque le grand audit révèle la conformité de l’entité auditée, cela conduit à sa certification. Un certificat de conformité au standard MSI 20000 est alors délivré à l’établissement. Conformément à la réglementation internationale en vigueur : les certificats de conformité ont une durée de validité de trois années, à compter de la date d’octroi et dès lors que le bénéficiaire reste représentatif de la certification.

Audit de suivi
Pour chaque cycle de certification, le certificateur effectue tout au long de la durée de validité des certificats, des audits annuels de contrôle afin de s’assurer que l’établissement certifié est toujours en conformité, d’une année à l’autre, avec les exigences requises MSI 20000.
Sur un cycle de certification de trois années, il y a deux audits de suivi (en n+1 et n+2).

Méthodologie

La certification au standard MSI 20000 repose sur l’évaluation de la conformité du système de management financier, par la mesure de la qualité financière d’une structure. A cet effet, le cahier des charges MSI 20000 prévoit 3 étapes, résumées ci-dessous :

Collecte de données
Il s’agit pour le certificateur de recueillir auprès du bénéficiaire, l’ensemble des données qui serviront aux travaux d’audit. Le support principal d’analyse, sont les états financiers des dernières années, approuvés par les commissaires aux comptes. La collecte des données se fait au sein des locaux du bénéficiaire ; la revue documentaire et le traitement des données, chez le certificateur.
Toute donnée transmise ou information communiquée dans le cadre des missions de certification, est soumise à confidentialité. La relation entre les parties prenantes est dans son intégralité régie par le sceau de la confidentialité.

Diagnostic technique
Il s’agit sur la base des états financiers approuvés et du protocole sectoriel MSI 20000, d’évaluer la qualité financière d’une entreprise, par la mesure des axes de solidité et de performance financière.
Les évaluations se présentent sous la forme d’une analyse financière complète et approfondie, explorant thème par thème, les composants et sous-jacents, liés directement ou indirectement à la qualité financière d’une entreprise. Chaque thème est repris individuellement par une sélection d’instruments, en fonction du secteur d’activité.

AXES THEMES
SOLIDITE Gestion des actifs
Gestion des liquidités
Gestion des passifs
Gestion des risques
Gestion des ressources humaines
Gestion du cycle de l’exploitation
PERFORMANCE Rentabilité commerciale
Rentabilité économique
Rentabilité financière
Rentabilité globale nette
Rentabilité opérationnelle
Rentabilité de la création de Valeur

Tableau illustratif, variable selon le secteur d’activité

Interprétation
Il s’agit de confronter les résultats du diagnostic financier, aux repères préconisés par le standard MSI20000. Cette comparaison permet, via un système de scoring, pondéré par des coefficients et des algorithmes de lecture d’écarts, de mesurer et de situer précisément la qualité financière d’une entreprise et ainsi statuer sur son aptitude à être certifiée. Les standards MSI sont fixés sur la base d’un benchmarking sectoriel international, ajusté selon les spécificités de chaque secteur d’activité.

INTERETS DE LA CERTIFICATION

Les valeurs ajoutées de la certification MSI 20000 sont multiples et peuvent être présentées, sous deux composantes :

L’expertise métier MSI 20000®

D’un point de vue interne : les rapports d’évaluation, décrivent de manière complète les points forts et les points faibles du management financier d’une entreprise. Le cahier des charges du référentiel MSI 20000 est le fruit d’un travail continu, construit sur les schémas d’évaluation financière les plus sophistiqués. Ainsi, via ses modèles prédictifs, la pertinence de la méthodologie conduisant à la certification MSI 20000 permet de tendre vers l’optimisation des processus de gestion financière, en détectant les carences et en anticipant les disfonctionnements à venir. L’émission d’alertes, accompagnées des recommandations à même d’y remédier, constitue une approche constructive et concrète de perfectionnement.

Le standard MSI 20000 vise à faire progresser les bonnes pratiques en matière de gouvernance financière en pérennisant au sein de l’entreprise, un système d’information financière ainsi que des procédures et des schémas d’aide et de prise de décision, fiables.

Le vecteur de communication MSI 20000®

D’un point de vue externe : une certification, comme vecteur de communication, est un argument fiable et concret, venant traduire la conformité d’un système, à un ensemble d’exigences.
La certification financière est un engagement et une initiative forte d’accréditation à un moment donné d’un système évolutif, selon un standard d’excellence.
L’utilisation des marques de conformité MSI 20000 est un indicateur contribuant directement au processus de valorisation et d’amélioration de l’attractivité d’une entreprise, en confortant le marché sur sa qualité financière.

Dans un environnement en perpétuelle évolution, le standard MSI 20000 se présente comme un indice commun aux acteurs économiques et opérateurs financiers, en quête de repères financiers à l’échelle nationale et internationale.

ATOUTS MSI 20000®

  • Une comparaison sectorielle à l’international de la situation de l’activité financière (via benchmarking)
  • Un guide de conduite et un support d’aide à la décision en matière de stratégies financières
  • Un système d’information financière viable et des schémas financiers pérennes
  • Une valorisation de l’activité et de la situation financière
  • Un levier de progression des bonnes pratiques financières
  • Un indicateur de solvabilité et de rentabilité
  • Un indice de maitrise des risques et d’intégration des précautions financières sectorielles
  • Un engagement vers une amélioration continue de l’attractivité financière
  • Un repère fiable et concret, gage de qualité financière sur le marché
  • Un avantage concurrentiel indéniable
  • Une prise de position à l’international

Marques de conformité :
Manuel d’utilisation MSI 20000
Logo type MSI 20000

ORGANISATION MSI®

Objet

MSI 20000 est un projet collectif qui rassemble des compétences issues des sphères économiques et financières, internationales.
L’Organisation MSI est l’autorité de diffusion et de régulation du référentiel MSI 20000.
L’Organisation MSI est une ONG de droit Suisse, à but non-lucratif.
L’Organisation a pour vocation la mise à jour et l’actualisation du référentiel ainsi que le contrôle de ses champs d’application.

Coordonnées

Web : www.organisationmsi.org
Adresse  : Organisation MSI,  3 Boulevard Georges Favon, 1204 Genève – Suisse

Comité scientifique

Comité-scientifique